Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Yes -Pennsylvania law requires all Pennsylvania motor vehicle owners to maintain vehicle liability insurance (financial responsibility) on a currently registered vehicle. Vehicle liability insurance covers the property damage or injuries you may cause others in a crash. (PA DMV Insurance Overview)
No – You need to be a resident in order to register your car in PA. All new residents with out-of-state non-commercial driver’s licenses must obtain a PA Driver’s License within 60 days of establishing a Pennsylvania residency. Register out of State Vehicle in Pa)
In order to title a vehicle in the name of a Corporate entity requires a signature of Officer or authorized employee. In addition, the Corporate signer must present a document of authorization from said Company or copy of Corporate bylaws identifying the signer. The signer must also show current PA photo ID and their signature must be executed in the presence of a Notary.
Adding a name requires reissue of a title similar to a title transfer. All individuals to be present with the existing title so that signatures of current and new owners can be notarized. The title will then be reissued and mailed from PennDOT in joint names.
Plates are part of a stock inventory of any Authorized Title & Tag agencies to issue immediately however if you choose to complete and mail in an application (MV140 ) you will get your new Tag directly from PennDOT (allow 4-6 weeks).
Yes– PennDOT makes available free online vehicle registration and driver’s license services. You cannot complete the initial registration online however you can renew or get copies of your registration (PADMV Online Services)
It is a violation of PA State Title 75 to operate a vehicle without a valid registration. Per Chapter 13, Subchapter A (d) Penalty, if late less than 60 days $25 fine. If greater than 60 days $75 fine or double the registration fee, whichever is greater. In the case of a motor carrier (truck) $50 fine, if greater than 60 days the fine will be double the registration fee for the maximum weight at which the vehicle could have been registered in PA. (Title 75)
PA vehicle titles transfers can only be processed by a PennDOT authorized agent, tag service, or motor vehicle dealer. All such authorized agents are Notaries but not every Notary is authorized by PennDOT to process title transfers. (Buying or Selling your Vehicle in PA)
In the case of a PA title, the seller’s signature must be notarized in the presence of a Notary. If the seller signs with proper Notary witness in advance of the actual transfer, the buyer can complete the rest of the transfer in the presence of an authorized agent, tag service, or motor vehicle dealer without the seller present.
Registration fees vary according to the type of vehicle be it a car, truck, trailer, motorcycle, motorhome, etc. A complete schedule of all PA vehicle fees are available in PennDOT form MV70S
Apportioned registration applies to commercial use heavy load trucks/vehicles that travel across state borders into other jurisdictions. The annual registration fees for such vehicles are charged by each jurisdiction traveled. The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a cooperative registration agreement among all of the states in the continental United States, the District of Columbia, and Canadian Provinces providing for payment of apportionable registration fees on the basis of total distance operated in all jurisdictions. (Apportioned FAQ)
Business use vehicles that operate within PA are classified as “Intrastate use commercial vehicles”. Those commercial use vehicles are issued plates labeled as “Truck”, “Bus”, “Limousine” or “Taxi” at the bottom. Business use vehicles that are registered in PA but operate across different state jurisdictions with GVW over 26,000lbs or have 3 or more axles are classified as “Interstate use commercial vehicles”. Those commercial use vehicles are issued plates labeled as “Apportioned”. (Commercial Vehicle Registration FAQ)
Companies that operate vehicles “Interstate“ Interstate operations occur when commercial vehicles transport goods or passengers from one point to another point in multiple jurisdictions. Commercial vehicles that operate in two or more jurisdictions and meet the following requirements are considered apportioned vehicles: i. Have two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross weight in excess of 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms); ii. Have three or more axles, regardless of weight; or, iii. Are used in combination, when the gross vehicle weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms) These vehicles are issued a registration plate labeled “Apportioned” at the bottom of the registration plate.
Yes. If an Apportioned Vehicle is withdrawn from a Fleet during a registration year, the amount of the Apportionable Fee for the vehicle for the remainder of the Registration Year shall be available for transfer to the registration of a replacement vehicle in the fleet or subject to the low of each Member Jurisdiction, may be credited or refunded to the Registrant. Additional Apportionable Fees resulting from an increase in gross weight or other factors, if any, shall be calculated as determined in accordance with the law of the Member Jurisdiction.